I’m incredibly tired. I have been since about 2 o’clock this afternoon. And yet, I’m awake. Typing. I watched a train run through LaGrange this afternoon; I watched it crawl, I watched each burdensome car lumber by, I watched the wheels move only because they were forced to, clunk-clunk, clunk-clunking as they went. I watched as, miracle of miracles, the crawl and lurch lessened – the heavy, the burdensome, began to move with something like grace, something like flying, to a force that would not be slowed down, would not be stopped. I thought about how all of this was accomplished by one engine pulling, straining, tirelessly until momentum is gained. I wondered aimlessly what would happen if there were an engine in the back too – pushing; if the cars would just crumple up into a heap in the middle. That’s my mind now – the train moving something like gracefully at a force that won’t ever be stopped. That’s why I’m awake. Typing. I’m trying to slow it down.

I had thought that maybe, since my mind is going, I would write the next chapter of my book. It’s due on Monday and I generally reserve writing it for Sunday night, but I’d rather not. So, I opened a Word document and began to write. What came out was not, however, the next chapter of my book. What came out was a potential rant and moan of pathetic measure. It began “I’m tired” and could have gone on for a very long time if I’d let it about how I sometimes feel lonely and misunderstood and how I’m tired all of the time and how I’m broken and how I don’t understand things and how other people are broken and how they don’t understand things and how I’m learning volumes-full about God and who he is and who I am and how it’s changing the way I live and breathe, and I”m spending time in his word every day, and I’m digging deep into it and into him, but somehow I feel like my relationship with him is at a standstill, and how the heck does that even happen because so much has changed at the very core of me, and how I’m not supposed to doubt myself, but I don’t even realize that I’m doing it half the time, so how am I supposed to stop doing it, and what if I’m just wrong, and how could I have this much to rant about when the weather was so glorious and when there is poetry, and when the Psalms speak to my very soul, and wait a second… life is good. Yet, low and behold I’ve somehow talked myself into this page full of… what it’s full of. I’m not denying the above – I’m not letting it swallow me. That’s flat-out dumb. Choose life. So I’m choosing life… and instead of going on about all of the above in depth, like I wanted to, I wrote this:

I’m tired. Weary.
And I shouldn’t be.
I won’t believe Satan’s lies –
I feel them on the wind.
I hear his breath beside me –
he’s waiting so patiently.
So very patiently.
And I feel his breath,
hear the wind,
feel his smile.
I will not hear.
will not believe
I know the truth.
know. The truth,
know the. Truth
know of love,
Know I’m loved,
know. Love.
So shut up.
Move on.
Or
Face
Me
If you dare.

 

One thought on “

Share your thoughts

